Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many books in the MTC Library catalog contain critical articles and biographical information that you can use in your casebook. Here are a few examples. You can perform a Summon search (or ask a librarian) to find more.
Critical Insights: Zora Neale Hurston by Zora Neale Hurston is today recognised as a major contributor to the Harlem Renaissance literature of the 1920s and American modernist literature. Hurston's most important works, published in the 1930s, emerge from her interest in African American oral and vernacular culture, represented in her most studied publications Mules and Men (1935) and Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937). Hurston's interest in preserving the culture of the black South remains among her most valuable contributions. Not only did she collect and preserve folklore outright, she also used folklore, native drama, and the black idiom and dialect in most of her fiction. this volume in the Critical Insights series presents original essays on Hurston's major works of fiction as well as explorations of her ethnographic nonfiction and her letters. For readers who are studying Hurston for the first time, a biographical sketch relates the details of her life. Critical Contexts essays survey the critical reception of her work, explore its cultural and historical contexts, situate Hurston among her contemporaries, and review key themes in her work. Critical readings include her texts Seraph on the Suwanee, Mules and Men, Dust on the Tracks of the Road, and her major work, Their Eyes Were Watching God. In addition, essays turn toward works sure to be of interest, including her children's stories and her correspondence with Langston Hughes. Rounding out the volume are a chronology of Huston's life and a list of her principle publications as well as a bibliography for readers seeking to study this fascinating author in greater depth. Each essay is 2,500 to 5,000 words in length, and all essays conclude with a list of ""Works Cited,"" along with endnotes. Finally, the volume's appendixes offer a section of useful reference resources: About This Volume Critical Context: Original Introductory Essays Critical Readings: Original In-Depth Essays Further Readings Detailed Bibliography Detailed Bio of the Editor General Subject Index
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 Z9626 2013
Zora Neale Hurston: The Breadth of Her Voice by Filtered through black womanist perspectives, Zora Neale Hurston: The Breath of Her Voice breaks new ground through innovation and imagination, by fusing interpretive methods in ethnographic writing and literary studies. Intrinsically referencing contemporary epistemological issues in ethnographic writing and literary canonicity, Dr. Karanja illuminates fragments of Hurston's life through an exploration of her novels and folklore collections. In doing so, she bridges disciplines to construct a postmodern text that #65533;speaks#65533; directly and formidably to oral literature and to the writer's and reader's collaboration in the production of textual meanings.
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 Z76 1999
Zora Neale Hurston by Zora Neale Hurston was a key figure in the Harlem Renaissance. Although her work was long ignored, it is now widely studied and praised. Her most famous novel, ""Their Eyes Were Watching God"", a classic in the African-American canon, depicts a woman's struggle for self-empowerment. Newly updated and featuring supplemental material such as a chronology, a bibliography, and an index, ""Zora Neale Hurston, New Edition"" is a keen critical look at Hurston's work and its influence on contemporary themes, such as race and gender in American society.
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 Z96 2008
Critical Essays on Zora Neale Hurston by The full range of literary traditions comes to life in the Twayne Critical Essays Series. Volume editors have carefully selected critical essays that represent the full spectrum of controversies, trends and methodologies relating to each author's work. Essays include writings from the author's native country and abroad, with interpretations from the time they were writing, through the present day.Each volume includes: -- An introduction providing the reader with a lucid overview of criticism from its beginnings -- illuminating controversies, evaluating approaches and sorting out the schools of thought-- The most influential reviews and the best reprinted scholarly essays-- A section devoted exclusively to reviews and reactions by the subject's contemporaries-- Original essays, new translations and revisions commissioned especially for the series-- Previously unpublished materials such as interviews, lost letters and manuscript fragments-- A bibliography of the subject's writings and interviews-- A name and subject index
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 Z67 1998
History Media from Films on Demand
Below are a few of the literature databases available to MTC students. Remember to limit your searches to critical articles from peer-reviewed academic journals! You may want to use the databases' advanced search features to locate your articles more easily.
Literature Resource Center
A great source for biographical essays (especially those in the Dictionary of Literary Biography) and critical articles.
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
Back issues of fifty eight literary journals
Full text articles on great writers, important works, influential movements, and events in world literature.
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive collection of academic journals for scholarly research
For Students Collection
Biographical essays & overviews of many writers and their works.
Critical Survey of Literature, Poetry and Short Fiction (Salem Press)
In-depth, analytical reference guides covering the major writers of world literature
Zora Neale Hurston - Web Sources
Web Links - African American history resources
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACCURACY OF YOUR CITATIONS!
Material provided is only intended as a guide.
Citation Generators are convenient to use but may not always be accurate.
IMPORTANT: The Library has made every effort to provide appropriate and accurate information to serve the research and writing needs of the Midlands Technical College community. The Library is not liable for inaccurate or incomplete information delivered by the citation generator links provided. Please check citation accuracy using style manuals, links provided at Citation Styles, or tutoring services in the Academic Success Center.
Media - The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Langston Hughes - Web Sources
Library Hours | My Account | Contact Us | Chat with A Librarian