LibGuides: Affordable Learning Resource Guide: General OER Collections

PASCAL's Faculty Textbook Portal

PASCAL's Faculty Textbook Portal
Easily find and access quality OER to support your courses.

Search Resources

OASIS Search
Searches open content from 90+ different sources and contains over 350,000 records.
California State University textbook Search Tool
Find FREE Online Course Materials Related to a Book

Textbook Collections

Top Picks:

OpenStax College
Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

More Options:

BC Campus OpenEd
BCcampus was asked to create a collection of open textbooks aligned with the top 40 highest-enrolled subject areas in the province. A second phase was announced in the spring of 2014 to add 20 textbooks targeting trades and skills training. Our open textbooks are openly licensed using a Creative Commons license, and are offered in various e-book formats free of charge, or print on demand books available at cost.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Open textbooks, syllabi, and supporting materials created under Affordable Learning Georgia OER grants. Materials are licensed under various Creative Commons licenses.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
OER Commons
OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.
Milne Open Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks, now Milne Open Textbooks, is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
Skills Commons
FREE and OPEN Workforce Training Materials for 21st Century Employment

Open Courseware

Open courseware sites offer educators access to a wide variety of course materials including, but not limited to, syllabi, reading lists, lecture notes, assignments, and exams.

MIT Open Courseware
Massachusetts Institute of Technology is one of the forerunners in open courseware, making "virtually all MIT course content" available online for public access.
more...less...
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Open Learning Initiatives
Carnegie Mellon offers courseware online, in addition to complete courses as well. Its mission is to improve higher education by offering such resources online.
more...less...
CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
Open Education Consortium
The Open Education Consortium in collaboration with MERLOT offers a search engine on OER (Open Educational Resources). OER are openly licensed online educational materials that allow teachers and students to freely use, share, and modify.
more...less...
Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
more...less...
CC BY 3.0
Saylor Academy
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit organization that offers nearly 100 full-length, free and open courses at the college and professional levels.
more...less...
CC BY 3.0
Open Michigan
edX
Massive open online course (MOOC) provider created by Harvard and MIT.
Open Yale Course
Free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University.

Repositories

Searching an OER Repository can result in a faster and more productive search experience since the resources have been curated and organized into various categories including discipline, format, and open license. Many repositories have either peer reviews or a rating scale where users have shared their perception or experience with the resource.

You can explore a vast list of OER Repositories and other search utilities on the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources site.

SC Technical College System OER Hub