LibGuides: Affordable Learning Resource Guide: STEM

PASCAL's Faculty Textbook Portal

PASCAL's Faculty Textbook Portal
Easily find and access quality OER to support your courses.

Science

AMSER: Applied Math and Science Educational Repository
Funded by the NSF and organized by large LC headings.
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Astronomy
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Biology
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Chemistry
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Physics
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
The Chem Collective
Created by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon to help those teaching/ learning Chemistry.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Astronomy
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Biology
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Chemistry
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Physics
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
MERLOT: Biology
Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MERLOT: Chemistry
Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MERLOT: Physics
Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
National Science Digital Library
Provides a robust search to limit by activity type, media format, and age level.
OER Commons: Astronomy
OER Commons: Biology
OER Commons: Chemistry
OER Commons: Physics
Open Textbook Library: Astronomy
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbook Library: Biology
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbook Library: Chemistry
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbook Library: Physics
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
PLOS One
More advanced, specific science resources that are open and could be used in a classroom setting.
Scitable by Nature Education
A free science library and personal learning tool. Currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology.

Technology

BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Computer Science
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Computer Science
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
MERLOT: Computer Science
Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons: Computer Science
Open Textbook Library: Information Systems
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbook Library: Programming Languages
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Engineering

BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Electrical Engineering
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Engineering - General
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Mecahnical Engineering
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Engineering
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
MERLOT: Engineering
Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons: Engineering
Open Textbook Library: Chemical Engineering
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbook Library: Electrical Engineering
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Math

American Institute of Mathematics: Approved Open Textbooks List
Over 15 open textbooks covering different levels of calculus, algebra, and statistics.
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Algebra
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Calculus
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Math - General
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Statistics
Textbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Math
Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
MERLOT: Math
Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
My Open Math
Provides free problem sets for practice. Almost ten textbooks already designed for courses.
OER Commons: Algebra
OER Commons: Calculus
OER Commons: Math
OER Commons: Statistics
Open Textbook Library: Mathematics
Open textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Scottsdale (AZ) Community College Math Blog
Free links and pre-developed courses used at Scottsdale.