A Quick Guide to A-Z Databases & Digital Resources
Choosing the right database depends on your research topic's subject area. If you're unsure where to begin, start your journey by delving into our Recommended Databases. These databases are comprehensive and interdisciplinary, offering a wide range of resources.
Alternatively, you can browse through our A-Z Databases & Digital Resources list. This list allows you to search by keyword or title and filter resources by subject and format. This guide is intended to assist students and faculty in finding the most suitable database for their research needs.
Access A-Z Databases & Digital Resources
- Visit the MTC Library homepage.
- Click on the Research Resources tab. Then, under "Start Exploring", click Filter Databases by Subject.
- You will be redirected to the A-Z Databases & Digital Resources page.
Search the Databases
Search by Database Title / Keyword
Locate the search bar at the top of the A-Z Databases page and:
- Type the database title or a keyword related to your research interest (e.g., "history," "science," "statistics").
- The list will automatically update to display relevant results.
Filter by Subject Using the Subject Dropdown
- Find the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects" near the top of the page.
- Select the subject area(s) that aligns with your research needs.
- The page will refresh to show only databases related to the selected subject.
Filter by Resource Type Using the Resource Type Dropdown
- Next to the subject dropdown, find the "Resource Types" dropdown.
- Select the type(s) of resource you need (e.g., Audio, Video, & Images; E-Books; Primary Sources; Scholarly Journal Articles).
- The list will update to only show databases that include the selected resource types.
Additional Tips
- Explore Database Descriptions: Read the brief descriptions under each database title to understand the resources available.
- Book a Librarian: Get in-depth assistance from a librarian with the databases or if you have questions. Librarians are also available via chat.