Featured Books
Podcasts
- Think: A young person's guide to navigating the newsSocial media connects teens to instant information; how do they discern the truth from the lies? Dr. Seema Yasmin, director of the Stanford Health Communication Initiative joins guest host Courtney Collins to discuss ways to engage youth and help them learn to dispel rumor and myths about science and medicine. Her book is "What the Fact? Finding the Truth in all the Noise."
One Search
Featured eResources
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Explore current articles, topic overviews, opinion pieces, primary sources documents, statistics, images , videos and audio files on controversial social issues. - Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple sides of issues on a variety of topics. - NewsBank Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore historical events through original newspaper articles, ideal for researchers and history enthusiasts. Covering global news from various time periods, it offers valuable insights into past events, trends, and perspectives.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search here for current news articles and transcripts from TV and radio broadcasts, ideal for students, journalists, and researchers needing up-to-date information on global events and trends. It covers a wide range of topics, including politics, business, sports, entertainment, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online reference library provides access to a selection of reference books on a wide range of topics. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in nearly every area of academic study.
- ProCon.orgProCon.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit, 501(c)(3) public charity whose mission is "Promoting education, critical thinking, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."
- AllSidesUnlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.
- HotDocsFrom Columbia University Libraries. "Full Text documents or reports on major governmental activities."
- SC State Library Digital CollectionsSouth Carolina historical resources and new digital projects
Explore South Carolina's News
- The State Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore South Carolina's history and stay informed on local news and events through archived and current full-text articles and colorful newspaper pages. Ideal for researchers, historians, and anyone interested in the state's heritage and ongoing stories.
- Post & Courier Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore local news coverage for Charleston, South Carolina, and surrounding areas, ideal for residents, researchers, and journalists interested in staying informed about regional events, politics, and community happenings. The collection covers a wide range of topics, including local news stories, sports, entertainment, and editorial content from the Post and Courier newspaper.
Citation Resources
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACCURACY OF YOUR CITATIONS!
Citing Your Sources: A guide to using citation styles
Style Manuals Available from MTC Library
- MLA Handbook Plus Database
Provides full access to MLA Handbook, 9th edition - MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition by American Psychological Association
- The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian
