Jane Austen by Jack Lynch (Editor)This collection brings together a selection of recent representative critical essays on Austen from a variety of perspectives. All of them take for granted the brilliance of her achievement, but they also make the case that she deserves to be taken seriou
Call Number: PR4037 .J287 2010
Mary Shelley by Harold Bloom (Editor)Mary Shelley's ""Frankenstein"", a story she wrote at the age of 19, is still a popular tale to this day, remarkable not only for its striking plot but also its Romantic elements. Her lesser-known works, and their critical reception, are also discussed in ""Mary Shelley"". This latest addition to the ""Bloom's Classic Critical Views"" series includes selections of the best historical criticism about Mary Shelley and her works.
Call Number: PR5841 .W8 Z75625 2008
Kate Chopin by Bernard KoloskiIn Kate Chopin: A Study of the Short Fiction, Bernard Koloski, who has explored the works of Kate Chopin for more than 25 years, argues that the writer's biculturalism, bilingualism, and life among intelligent, questioning people are the sources of her extraordinary vision, originality, and compassion as a short story writer. The first full-length treatment devoted exclusively to Chopin's stories, and the first since the 1930s to look at the stories outside - though not at all in opposition to - their place of honor among the works about women, the volume provides fresh insights into the writer's fiction. In a seamless, graceful presentation Koloski establishes the biographical, literary, historical, and cultural contexts for the appreciation of Chopin's stories and offers sensitive readings of selected works. Subsequent sections provide a sampling of Chopin's literary criticism, including essays on Emile Zola's Lourdes and Hamlin Garland's Crumbling Idols, and explore a quarter century of scholarly criticism, excerpting the writings of, among others, Peggy Skaggs on "Stories about Children" and Emily Toth on A Vocation and a Voice. The study, which is suitable for students at high school, college, and graduate levels, includes a preface, selected bibliography, chronology, and index.
Understanding 19th-Century Slave Narratives by Sterling Lecater Bland (Editor)African American slave narratives of the 19th century recorded the grim realities of the antebellum South; they also provide the foundation for this compelling and revealing work on African American history and experiences. * Presents information and primary source documents that support such key subject areas as American history, ethnic studies, and African American history, among other areas * Introduces readers to unique slave narratives that often center on such topics as entrepreneurship, racial violence and resistance, gender, and subjects regarding the color line like pigmentation and passing * Situates each slave narrative in historical context through the use of a document introduction and annotations * Supplies slave narratives that are important primary sources and will help students with building interpretive, critical-thinking skills needed to be successful 21st-century learners
Newly expanded! JSTOR includes content from more than 2,800 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also includes millions of primary sources from four individual collections, featuring pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
A-Z list of some other resources you might want to try:
by Ask A Librarian
Last Updated Feb 13, 2024
2 views this year
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACCURACY OF YOUR CITATIONS!
IMPORTANT: The Library strives to offer accurate information for the research needs of the Midlands Technical College community. However, citation generator links may provide incomplete or inaccurate details. Verify citation accuracy using style manuals, the Citing Your Sources guide, or Academic Success Center tutoring services.