Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Licensed Streaming Film Sources
The following are subscription databases available through the library. Some have public viewing licenses, but others may not. Please contact a librarian regarding copyright restrictions.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers ~ 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Nursing Education in Video
An up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills.
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Provides 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body system, pronunciation guide, quizzes, and much more.
Free Online Streaming Sources
The following are free sites to watch online videos. Some sites have Creative Commons licenses, some are in the public domain, but some have copyrighted materials. Please check the FAQs and About sections of the individual web sites to verify you can use the material before using a video in or for a course. Checkout our list of Licensed Streaming Film Sources tab for a list of sources where you can find films that the library has licensed to use in your class.
60 Minute Full Episodes
A collection of full episodes of CBS news program 60 Minutes.
A collection of free online courses from top universities around the world. Topics covered include art & design, business, humanities, and computer science.
A collection of shows and documentaries from the network.
American Indian Film Gallery
A collection of more than 450 films by and about Native Americans ranging from 1925-2010.
A collection of historic speeches presented in video, audio, and text.
Streaming videos from the Annenberg educational collection covering a range of topics such as art, history, math, science, government, and literature.
Archeology Channel Video Guide
A collection of over 150 films that cover a variety of archeological topics and places.
Archive of American Television
Interviews with actors, directors, editors, and others who are in the television industry.
BBC Online Archive
Themed collections from the BBC Archives of radio and TV programs, documents and photographs from as far back as the 1930's.
Business of Fashion
Interviews with designers, fashion films, and discussions of important fashion news.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Access to films, audio recordings, images, and texts related to the Civil Rights Movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.
C-Span Video Library
An archive of all the C-SPAN programming that has aired since 1987. Programs from all three C-SPAN channels have been recorded and indexed for searching.
Digital Public Library
A collection of text, images, audio recordings, and moving images from a variety of American libraries, museums, and archives.
EVIA Digital Archive
Digital archive of ethnographic field videos.
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.
Harvard Open Courses
Videos for free courses offered through the Harvard Extension School's Open learning Initiative. These courses taught by Harvard faculty cover subjects such as art & humanities, languages, literature, and science.
A project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE) that provides high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students. Subjects include math, natural science, social science, and humanities.
This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
A collection of over 4000 videos that cover math, science (biology, chemistry, and physics), finance, and history. These videos are all about 10 minutes long and created to help students learn at their own pace.
Free video lectures that cover a variety of topics in science, math, history, language, philosophy, and business. The audio and video lectures are conducted by faculty from reputable universities around the world.
Library of Congress American Memory Project
Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
The Mike Wallace Interview
A Collection of Mike Wallace interviews from 1957-1958, hosted by the Ransom Center at the University of Texas Austin. These 65 interviews include Gloria Swanson, Bob Feller, Frank Lloyd Wright, Abba Eban, and many others.
Specialized collection focused on American politics and history with special attention to the American presidency. The multimedia archive includes secret White House recordings, presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center forums, and documents related to the executive branch.
A Collection of MIT course content available for free.
Moving Image Research Collections Digital Video Depository
Free online public access to copies of archival film and video from several of MIRC's collections including Fox Movietone News, Chinese Film Collection, local television news, and USC Athletic Department.
National Film Board of Canada
Documentary and animated films that explore the world from a Canadian point of view.
Open Video Project
A collection of educational and ephemeral films collected and hosted by UNC Chapel Hill.
Open Yale Courses
Free access to a collection of introductory courses taught by distinguished faculty from Yale University.
PBS- American Experience
Full length episodes of the PBS series American Experience.
Almost 1000 hours of original documentary footage chronicling contemporary art and artists. Features artists, art installations, exhibitions, and performances at galleries and museums.
Online access to select Frontline episodes from 1983- present covering a variety of subjects including health, education, and business.
Instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, audio, photos, and even in-depth lesson plans for grades K-13. The site requires registration but all the content is free for educators, students and families.
Full length programs from the Public Broadcasting System.
Selected programs covering topics from ancient worlds to evolution to physics and math.
A collection of full-length and short films from the POV series.
Southern Foodways Alliance
Films produced in concert with the University of Mississippi's Center for Documentary Projects to document, study, and celebrate the diverse food cultures of the changing American South.
Stanford Health Video Library
A collection of programs featuring prominent doctors presenting the most recent research on numerous health issues.
A collection of short presentations and speeches presented by a wide variety of acclaimed individuals at the annual TED conference.
Thanhouser Films Online
Over 50 films produced by the Thanhouser Company between 1910-1917. This collection was pulled together with the help of the Library of Congress, the American Film Institute, The National Film and Television Archive, The British Film Institute, The Museum of Modern Art, George Eastman House, and The Netherlands Filmmuseum.
An independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. Artists include Jasper Johns, Banksy, Andy Warhol, and many others.
USDA YouTube Channel
Videos produced by the USDA about a variety of topics including current events, food safety, and nutrition.
WGHB Open Vault
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
Full length feature films and documentaries available to stream for free or pay-per-view.
Library Hours | My Account | Contact Us | Chat with A Librarian