Major Subcategories
BF1-990 Psychology
BF173-175.5 Psychoanalysis
BF176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
BF180-198.7 Experimental psychology
BF203 Gestalt psychology
BF207-209 Psychotropic drugs and other substances
BF309-499 Consciousness. Cognition (Includes learning, memory, imagination, intelligence, psycholinguistics, mental fatigue)
BF501-505 Motivation
BF636-637 Applied psychology
BF660-685 Comparative psychology.
BF698-698.9 Personality
BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology (Including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood)
BF1001-1389 Parapsychology
BF1048-1108 Hallucinations. Sleep. Dreaming. Visions
BF1404-2055 Occult sciences
SEE LIBRARIAN FOR OTHER SUB-TOPICS
One Search
Featured eResources
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Explore a wide range of topics in psychology and behavioral sciences, perfect for researchers and students seeking insights into human behavior and mental processes. Covers articles on psychological theories, experimental research, therapeutic techniques, and more.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access a wealth of knowledge on psychology and behavior through full-text, peer-reviewed articles. This database includes publications from the American Psychological Association and its affiliated journals, covering a wide range of topics within the field.
- Academic Video Online (AVON): PsychologyA large and diverse collection of both video and text that focuses on how people think, feel, develop and change.
- Developmental Psychology JournalBrowse titles from 1969 to the present or search within the publication.
- EBSCO Ebook Collection - PsychologyOver 7,000 eBooks relating to Psychology
Specialized Websites & Featured Articles
- Careers in Psychology"...a facet of APA’s public education campaign aimed at illustrating the breadth and depth of psychology and the variety of settings in which psychologists work" - APA
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)The NIMH is one of 27 research centers within the National Institutes of Health. NIMH specializes in research related to mental illness and covers topics from anxiety disorders to suicide prevention
- Psychotherapy.netProduces high quality training videos in the field of psychotherapy for therapists and psychology educators (at cost). However, also publishes free articles, interviews, blogs, and cartoons.
- DSM-5 (article on 5th edition)Referred to as 'Psychiatry's Bible', the the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual has recently been updated to include new disorders (hoarding) while renaming others ("substance use disorders" vs substance abuse or dependence). This article explains the major changes.
Citation Resources
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACCURACY OF YOUR CITATIONS!
Citing Your Sources: A guide to using citation styles
Style Manuals Available from MTC Library
- MLA Handbook Plus Database
Provides full access to MLA Handbook, 9th edition - MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition by American Psychological Association
- The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian
Ask Us!
Links and RSS Feeds
APA in The News