LibGuides: Spanish Language Learning: Home

Spanish Websites

StudySpanish
This website offers brief explanations and pronunciation practice. Students can also create flashcards. Finally, the site has a bilingual cultural section where students can read and listen about Hispanic American and Spanish culture.
CARLA Glossary
CARLA (Center for Advanced Language Research) glossary. Provides excellent grammar explanations. It also provides resources as well as strategies for approaching grammatical concepts.
IXL Learning Spanish
This website provides vocabulary, grammar, and listening practice for beginning Spanish students.
Bowdoin
Based on the book All the Spanish Grammar You Really Need to Know, this site provides a wealth of explanations. Students can listen and practice with the speaker.
Spanish Language & Culture
This is another gem for beginning and intermediate Spanish students. This website offers grammar practice as well as some music and cultural lessons.
Destinos
Destinos video textbook series. 52-episode beginner series about Don Fernando, owner of La Gavia, Raquel (a lawyer), and Jaime. Shows many parts of the world. Entertaining way to listen to a Spanish soap opera at beginning level.
Duolingo
Duolingo is a language-learning website as well as a popular app.

Spanish Verbs Made Simple(r) by David Brodsky
It's time for a new approach to learning Spanish verbs. Unlike popular verb guides that require the rote memorization of hundreds of verb forms, this book clearly explains the rules that govern the conjugation of all classes of Spanish verbs--especially the irregular ones that give second-language learners the most trouble. These simple, easy-to-understand rules for conjugating Spanish verbs are effective learning tools for both beginning students and more advanced speakers who want to perfect their usage of Spanish verb forms.

Spanish Vocabulary by Conrad J. Schmitt
This text helps you keep your Spanish up to date, with the latest terms and contemporary usage, both in Spain and in Latin America.

Duolingo
Duolingo is a language-learning website as well as a popular app.
Busuu
This is a Spanish app for the busy learner. It includes a vocabular trainer, grammar information, and a study plan.
HelloTalk
This app can improve your Spanish by "connecting you with native Spanish speakers around the globe" and "creating a unique learning experience where users can teach one another's native language."
Livemocha
"Livemocha fuses traditional learning methods with online practice and interaction with native language speakers from around the world."
Memrise
“Learn to speak a new language while having fun. Let real native speakers teach you their language from the streets of their home town through our Learn with Locals video clips.”
Quizlet
Quizlet provides sets of flashcards, diagrams, and study guides related to various foreign languages. Users are also able to create their own flashcards and organize them into sets and folders.

MSN: Noticias
This is the Spanish Microsoft web portal. It covers news, weather, sports, food, drink, and travel in the United States and Spanish-speaking world
El Mundo
This Spanish-based newspaper covers Spanish and international news, including major new headlines from the United States.
El País
El País is the most popular online Spanish newspaper. This Madrid-based international periodical offers daily news from Spain, the Americas, the United States, and Europe.

Artishock
Artishock magazine showcases contemporary art, exhibitions, and artists in Spain and Latin America.
Cocinafácil
Whether you like to cook, like to peruse recipes, or just like to eat, you will enjoy this magazine. Even better, this site offers traditional recipes from the Spanish-speaking world that are easy to prepare and delicious.
El Cultural
This arts magazine ranges the gamut of art, literature, videogames, and culture. It includes interviews with modern authors, film directors, and artists.
Emprendedores
Emprendedores is the magazine for anyone interested in Business. This online magazine is aimed at Internet or brick and mortar businesses. It provides troubleshooting guides and case studies for up and coming business moguls.
Gadgets
If you like technology, you will love this Spanish magazine. The magazine introduces anything technology-related including accessories and gaming information.
National Geographic en Español
Travel around the world, peer into culture, history, and world events with a magazine you already know. Online extras include downloadable wallpapers and video content for Android and iPhone.
People en Español
This is the Spanish online version of People magazine.
tú
Do you love celebrity culture? This is the magazine for you. tú focuses on young, modern celebrities and couples.

Canela TV
"Free Latino TV for the USA. Sí, es GRATIS! Hundreds of bingeworthy TV series & movies contenido en Español de Latinoamerica y España..."
Destinos
Destinos video textbook series. 52-episode beginner series about Don Fernando, owner of La Gavia, Raquel (a lawyer), and Jaime. Shows many parts of the world. Entertaining way to listen to a Spanish soap opera at beginning level.
Isabel
This is a series on IMDb. If you like Game of Thrones, you will like this series.
Pluto TV
"All you really need to know is... it's free of passwords, it's free of payments, and it's free of all those Friday night spats about what to watch."
Telemundo
"La mejor cobertura de noticias en español, capítulos completos de nuestras series y shows, entretenimiento, estilo de vida, y los videos y fotos del momento."
Univision
"La mejor cobertura en Noticias, Deportes y Entretenimiento. Lo mejor de nuestra programación de TV."

Duolingo Spanish Podcast
According to the description, this podcast offers "fascinating stories in easy-to-understand Spanish."