MTC Library Policies and Services

Below are some of Midlands Technical College Library's policies and services available to library users. If you have any questions, please Contact Us or submit your question to our Chat with a Librarian service.

• Library Mission Statement and Vision Statement
• Library Locations and Hours
• Library Collection
• Lending and Borrowing Materials
• Study Rooms
• Interlibrary Loan
• Reserves
• Reference Services
• Computer or Wi-Fi Usage
• Printing, Copying, or Scanning
• Handling of Library User’s Personal Electronic Devices
• Library Instruction
• Library User Conduct
• Library Patron Confidentiality 

The mission of the Midlands Technical College Library is to:

• Support the educational goals, objectives, and academic programs of the college;
• Provide a collection of and access to information resources appropriate for a multi-campus community/technical college environment;
• Offer leadership that promotes lifelong learning skills, and;
• Share research skills and knowledge with the college community.

Midlands Technical College Library is a leader in developing and promoting information literacy and lifelong learning for a diverse student population through the use of emerging technologies and traditional library resources.

Library hours may be different between semesters, over college breaks, holidays, or over Summer semester. Please view our online library calendar (midlandstech.libcal.com/hours) for the most up-to-date schedule.

The library's collection includes more than 452,000 print and electronic volumes that support the college's curriculum, including business, medical, legal, scientific, technical, humanities, and reference publications. Also included is access to numerous full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers through electronic databases.

The Midlands Technical College Library circulates print and non-print resources to faculty, staff, and students. The library circulates resources to users in the three service areas (Fairfield, Lexington, and Richland counties).

Checkout Limitations, Renewals, & Overdue Fines

You can renew items by 1) logging into your library account, 2) at the front desk, or 3) calling any of the campus libraries.

Materials can be returned inside the library or placed in an outdoor book drop at any of the MTC campus locations. You will be charged / billed for lost or damaged materials.

Check out privileges are canceled if you owe more than $75.00. 

Library study rooms are intended to support academic work and may be reserved by current Midlands Technical College students, faculty, and staff.  Priority use of the rooms will be given to students. Study rooms in the Library may be reserved online. Study rooms at Airport, Beltline, and Northeast Campus Libraries vary in size and available technology. To read the full Library Study Room Use Policy or to make a study room reservation, please visit the Library Reservations webpage (midlandstech.libcal.com).

The library will assist faculty, staff, and students with interlibrary loan requests. Faculty, staff, and students are responsible for the return, damages, and fees of requested resources.

Midlands Technical College patrons can request PASCAL Delivers books via the library website (lib.midlandstech.edu). Patrons will need to sign in to your library account to see PASCAL Delivers availability options. If a local copy of a title is not available and the patron has signed into Onesearch, they may see other available institution copies. If consortium copies are available, patrons will see a “request via PASCAL Delivers” button and can request the title.  Information regarding the request process can be found at the PASCAL Delivers: Information guide (libguides.midlandstech.edu/pascal).

Books borrowed by Midlands Technical College patrons should arrive within a few days via Fedex. Books are loaned for 12 weeks with no renewal option. Midlands Technical College does not loan current year books to other colleges. 

PASCAL Delivers works within an academic schedule framework. Requesting is turned off at certain points during the year such as over the winter holidays. The turning on/off of the PASCAL Delivers service is handled by PASCAL staff within the Alma system. Once requesting is turned off, patrons will not be able to place a PASCAL Delivers request during this time period. 

Visiting Patrons
A PASCAL Visiting Patron is defined as a student/faculty member in good standing at one of the SC institutions whose academic library participates in the PASCAL lending system. This policy is designed for a user, who is a student/faculty member at another institution, coming to the MTC library to borrow MTC’s materials in person rather than having the items sent to their home institution. A PASCAL Visiting Patron may check out a limit of 25 books.

Instructor course materials may be available for specific classes depending on if the instructor placed the materials on loan for students to use. Instructor course materials check out for instructor-designated checkout periods of time.

For more information about reserves, please check out this Course Reserves: Information guide (libguides.midlandstech.edu/coursereserves).

The library offers a variety of reference services. Library staff will provide assistance in identifying and locating resources and the use of print, non-print, and electronic resources. Online and telephone reference service is available for library users.

Book-A-Librarian 
A library service offered to students when requested. Students may go online to MTC Library’s homepage and make an appointment to have one-on-one research help with a librarian. MTC Library recommends a 24-hour notice. Students may choose to attend the appointment in the library or via remote technology.

Book-A-Librarian appointments can be made by filling out the form at lib.midlandstech.edu/bookLibrarian.php.

Chat with a Librarian

You can access Chat with a Librarian through the MTC Library website (midlandstech.edu/student-resources/library/chat-librarian). ROV-R the Info Retriever (MTC Library’s chatbot) can help you find quick answers, direct you to library resources, or connect you to a live librarian.

Chat with a Librarian also allows you to chat live with a librarian to answer questions during the following library hours:

• Monday – Thursday 9:00 AM – 6:30 PM
• Friday 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM
• Saturday / Sunday 10:00AM – 4:00PM (Weekend chat from other Academic Librarians around the world.)

The library offers computer and internet access to all users. Wi-Fi is available with a MyMTC login. Guests can obtain a temporary login by visiting the front desk. 

Computer Usage Regulations
Midlands Technical College policies for computer usage apply to all library patrons. Guidelines for responsible computer use can be viewed in Appendix IV of the Student Handbook (midlandstech.edu/student-handbook/appendix-iv-guidelines-responsible-computer-use).

Printing
Library users may print from one of the library desktop computers, or the quick print station. Please see library staff for the current printing process. Color printing is only available at the Beltline campus library location.

Copying
The library offers fee-based photocopying services. Cost of each black and white Xerox copy is ten cents. Cost of each color Xerox copy is fifty cents. Library users are responsible for any copyright infringement when photocopying.

Scanning
Library users may make scans using the library’s copier machine. Scanning is free but library users will need a USB flash drive to save their scans on.

Faxing
The library offers free faxing for local and toll-free numbers

Library faculty and staff will not troubleshoot library users’ personal electronic devices including hardware repair, installing software, and addressing technical issues. If the library staff member feels they obtain enough knowledge to fix a technical issue, the library staff member may verbally walk the library user through how to fix the technical issue on their personal electronic device.

The mission of the Instruction Program at the Midlands Technical College Library is to collaborate with faculty and administration to prepare students to effectively and responsibly locate, evaluate, and use information across the curriculum and in lifelong learning. The program accomplishes its mission by providing engaging individual, classroom, and online instruction.

The library offers library instruction when requested by faculty. Library instructions are offered in the library, in the classroom, and via remote technology.  Librarians offer general overview library instruction classes and subject/assignment specific library instruction classes.

To request a library instruction, please fill out the form on the Library Collaboration Request webpage (lib.midlandstech.edu/instRequest).

Library User Conduct
All library users should follow Midlands Technical College’s Student Code of Conduct (midlandstech.edu/student-handbook/appendix-i-student-code-mtc).

No Food or Open Drinks in the Library
Food is not allowed in the MTC Library or study rooms. Drinks in secure containers are permitted. 

Children in the Library
Midlands Technical College does not allow non-students under the age of 18 in the classroom, lab, or the library. For more information, please review the MTC Student Handbook (midlandstech.edu/student-handbook/children-campus).

Patron information is protected by South Carolina state law. For additional information regarding user rights and responsibilities, please review the SC Code of Laws, Title 60, Chapter 4 (scstatehouse.gov/code/t60c004.php) and the South Carolina Responsibility Law (hdl.handle.net/10827/5889).