Finding and Citing Online Images

Roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.

Over 65,000 images focusing on Muslim cultures and civilizations. Registration is required, but free.

This guide provides an overview of the Artstor Public Collections

Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.

Images of works from their permanent collection. The images may be used in unaltered form for non-commercial educational purposes, as long as the artist and museum website address are cited.

Images of over 300,000 pieces from their collection are available on their website. Provided the source is cited, personal and educational use (as defined by fair use in US copyright law) is permitted. Any reproduction of text or images from this site in a publication (with the exception of news reporting and commentary) is not permitted.

Nearly 30,000 images of works from their collection are available online. The images may be used in unaltered form for non-commercial educational purposes, as long as the artist and museum website address are cited.

The National Gallery offers their online collection, which includes videos, podcasts, and images, for personal, educational, and non-commercial uses only.

Discover 40,807,340 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.

JSTOR’s continuously expanding Open Community Collections feature Open Access primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.

Images from the Library of Congress collections

Explore 894,620 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Video clips from a variety of sources, especially various video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies such as the U.S. Records and Archives Administration and NASA. Although the government agency videos were produced with public funds and are freely available from the Archives, no copyright clearance has been obtained for audio or video elements in these productions. Researchers are encouraged to use the data under fair use for research purposes.

The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.

USC Digital Collections department scans rare, unique, and fragile items held by University Libraries and publishes them online for researchers on campus and around the world.

CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.

Search for photos on Flickr that have one of the CC licenses.

When you do a Google Search, you can filter your results to find images, videos, or text that you have permission to use. To do this, use an Advanced Search filter called "usage rights" that lets you know when you can use, share, or modify something you find online.

Free high-resolution pictures you can use on your personal and commercial projects.
Click on an image to download the high-resolution version. New awesome pictures added weekly. All pictures were photographed by Ryan McGuire and free of copyright restrictions.

Aggregates photos from a variety of photographers around the world. Search and browse free, high-resolution photos.

The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes.

Wunderstock is a free photo library that provides access to tens of thousands of high quality public domain photos plus extended results for 10+ million Creative Commons images on Flickr.