Related Guides
Check Out Related Subject Guides:
- Rainbow Reads for a collection of LGBTQIA+ literature
- Controversial Issues & Current Events for a collection of resources on researching controversial issues
- MTC Reads: Weaponized Lies for a collection of resources dedicated to critical thinking and media literacy
- Fake News for a collection of resources on how to spot "fake news"
Search the Library Catalog and More
Best Databases to Start Your Research
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Assignment Resources
Evaluating Resources
- Introducing SIFTHow to get better at sorting truth from fiction from everything in-between.
Finding and Crediting Photos Online
- Finding and Using Image ResourcesThis guide is designed to provide helpful links to online image resources and help on how to cite them.
Writing Recipes
- How to Write a RecipeWant to put your favourite recipe down on paper? BBC Good Food's kitchen team of cookery experts have shared some of their best hints and tips for the creative process.
Versions of Self/Code Switching
- Code-SwitchingInformation about code-switching from Credo Reference.
- Code Switch: NPRThe blog of a multi-racial, multi-generational team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting.
- The Costs of Code-SwitchingWorkplace research suggests that code-switching can generate both positive and negative outcomes for black employees.
Online Organizational Tools
- PadletFrom your hobby to your career, your class notes to your final exam, your mood board to your runway show, padlets help you organize your life.
Related Articles
- 'Setting a place at the table': The black chefs unearthing history.from Christian Science Monitor
- Equal opportunity is not enoughfrom The Washington Post
- From Greece: Food Fit for Godsfrom Saturday Evening Post
- Honoring the Stories of American Cuisinesfrom TIME Magazine
- Neighborhood Disparities in Access to Healthy Foods and Their Effects on Environmental Justicefrom the American Journal of Public Health
- Social Cohesion and Food Insecurity: Insights from the Geographic Research on Wellbeing (GROW) Studyfrom Maternal & Child Health Journal
- Sunday Gravyfrom Saturday Evening Post
- ZIP Code Has a Gravityfrom The New York Times
Citation Resources
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACCURACY OF YOUR CITATIONS!
IMPORTANT: The Library strives to offer accurate information for the research needs of the Midlands Technical College community. However, citation generator links may provide incomplete or inaccurate details. Verify citation accuracy using style manuals, the Citing Your Sources guide, or Academic Success Center tutoring services.
Citing Your Sources: A guide to using citation styles
Style Manuals Available from MTC Library
- MLA Handbook Plus Database
Provides full access to MLA Handbook, 9th edition - MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition by American Psychological Association
- The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian